Monday, May 5, 2008

10 Elected Officials Fined

Posted by on Mon, May 5, 2008 at 2:58 PM

By: Allen Johnson


The Louisiana Board of Ethics let stand fines against 10 elected officials for late filings of campaign reports — despite waiver requests in nine of those cases. Among area officials, the state board refused to waive a $600 fine against Jefferson Parish School Board member Karen Barnes for a 2002 campaign report filed 12 days late. The board also declined to waive a $40 fine against Harahan City Council member Cindy Murray, whose 2006 campaign filed a report one day late. Tangipahoa Parish Council District 6 member Ronald Bankston, whose 2007 campaign filed a report 78 days late, saw his fine drop from $400 to $160 after the board acknowledged notification “issues.” But the panel declined to waive a $400 fine against Plaquemines Parish Councilmember Brent Chauvin. Of the 10 cases, only Hammond Mayor Mason Foster did not seek a waiver. He owes $400 for a 1998 campaign report filed 10 days late.

Tags: ,

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Blog of New Orleans

Top Topics in Blog of New Orleans

Music & Nightlife (67)

Food & Drink (66)

Events & Festivals (51)

Sports (48)

A&E (44)

Recent Comments

© 2014 Gambit
Powered by Foundation