Pin It

Best of New Orleans 2014: Media 

click to enlarge coreyiel-shirt.jpg

Photo by Lyn Vicknair

BEST RADIO STATION

1. WWOZ 90.7 @wwoz_neworleans
Where else are you going to find this? Not just on the radio, but anywhere? Unearthed treasures from music history, forgotten hits and the local tracks that only have a home on New Orleans radios. WWOZ blasts a 24/7 stream of jazz, R&B, country, bluegrass and selections from the world of New Orleans music and beyond. The nonprofit, volunteer-staffed radio station first broadcast in 1980, and it's always in the Best of New Orleans top spot.

2. WWL-AM 870 @wwlamfm

3. WWNO 89.9 @wwno


BEST INVESTIGATIVE REPORTER

1. Lee Zurik WVUE-TV @leezurik

2. Travers Mackel WDSU-TV @traversmackel

3. Bill Capo WWL-TV @billcapo


BEST LOCAL TV NEWSCAST

1. WWL
www.wwltv.com
@wwltv

2. WDSU
www.wdsu.com
@wdsu

3. WVUE
www.fox8live.com
@fox8nola


BEST LOCAL PUBLICATION

1. Gambit @the_gambit

2. New Orleans Advocate@theadvocateno

3. The Times-Picayune@nolanews


BEST LOCAL RADIO HOST

1. Tom Fitzmorris @neworleansmenu

2. TIE: Garland Robinette @garlandwwl

2. TIE: John "Spud" McConnell

3. Scoot @scootwwl


BEST LOCAL TV ANCHOR

1. Karen Swensen @karenswensen
Last year's Top 3 in this category were (in order) Norman Robinson, Swensen and Angela Hill. Robinson and Hill both retired from the anchor desk in the last year and Swensen ascended to the top spot. Swensen started at WWL-TV in 1993 as a producer before becoming a reporter and anchor and moved on to a Boston news job in 2006, but she returned to New Orleans in 2011 to anchor the station's 6 p.m. and 10 p.m. newscasts. After her husband was diagnosed with kidney cancer, Swensen formed an organization called Life's About Change! (www.lifesaboutchange.com to raise money for people with cancer and their families. In June, Swensen co-hosted an hour of the Today show with her best friend, former WWL anchor Hoda Kotb, and when Today wasn't shown in the New Orleans market (WDSU-TV, which airs Today explained it had a policy of not promoting anchors on other stations), it created a minor online furor with New Orleanians angry that they weren't able to watch Swensen's big moment on national TV.

2. Sally-Ann Roberts @sallyannwwl

3. Scott Walker @scottwalker6


BEST LOCAL TV SPORTSCASTER

1. Fletcher Mackel, WDSU-TV @fletchermackel

2. Jim Henderson, WVUE-TV Fox8

3. Juan Kincaid, WWL-TV@jkincaidwwl


BEST LOCAL TV WEATHERCASTER

1. Bob Breck @bobbreckfox8

2. Margaret Orr @margaretorr

3. Carl Arredondo @wwltvweather


BEST LOCAL WEBSITE

1. nola.com

2. bestofneworleans.com

3. wwl.com



More winners:
FoodBars & EntertainmentPolitics
Local LifeGoods & Services • Media


Pin It

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Best of New Orleans

© 2015 Gambit
Powered by Foundation