Pin It

24 cheap eats in 24 hours 

click to enlarge Screen_Shot_2014-06-24_at_8.40.17_AM.png
Find the following good eats under $10, anytime day or night in New Orleans:

6 a.m.
Banana cream-filled doughnut topped with Nutella and banana chips, $7.50 a dozen at Blue Dot Donuts (4301 Canal St., 504-218-4866; 5236 Tchoupitoulas St., 504-941-7675; www.bluedotdonuts.com).

7 a.m.
Grits, hash browns or black beans topped with eggs, bacon and melted cheddar, $5 at Wakin' Bakin' (4408 Banks St., 504-252-0343; www.wakinbakin.com).

8 a.m.
Puff pastry filled with egg, artichoke spread and melted cheese, $2.50 at Pagoda Cafe (1430 N. Dorgenois St., 504-644-4178; www.pagodacafe.net).

9 a.m.
Scrambled eggs, Swiss cheese, Canadian bacon and Vidalia onions on a baguette, $6.50 at HiVolt (1829 Sophie Wright Place, 504-324-8818); www.hivoltcoffee.com).

10 a.m.
A sweet potato biscuit has a maple glaze and chunks of salty bacon, $2.50 at Shake Sugary (3600 St. Claude Ave., 504-355-9345; www.shakesugary.com).

11 a.m.
A choice of hot or cold corned beef with mustard on seeded rye bread, $8.95 at JIMS (3000 Royal St., 504-304-8224; www.jimsnola.com).

Noon
Pate, onion marmalade, Dijon and cornichons on a toasted baguette with a side of white bean salad, $9 at Tartine (7217 Perrier St., 504-866-4860; www.tartineneworleans.com).

1 p.m.
Carne asada: marinated beef served with tortillas, beans and rice, $7 at Norma's Sweets Bakery (2925 Bienville St., 504-309-5401).

2 p.m.
Three-bean hummus: petit red beans, black-eyed peas, chick-peas and smoked cashew tahini served with yuca chips, $8 at Cane and Table (1113 Decatur St., 504-581-1112; www.caneandtablenola.com).

3 p.m.
Albondigas: Mexican-style spaghetti and meatballs with rice, beans and corn tortillas, $9 at Brandito's Burritos (St. Roch Tavern, 1200 St. Roch Ave., 504-782-5526; www.facebook.com/branditosburritos).

4 p.m.
A crepe filled with garlicky mushrooms, sauteed spinach and goat cheese with a side of Russian dressing, $6 at Kukhnya (Siberia, 2227 St. Claude Ave., 504-265-8855; www.siberianola.com).

5 p.m.
Herbed goat cheese-stuffed piquillo peppers with a sherry vinaigrette, $8 at Treo (3835 Tulane Ave., 504-304-4878; www.treonola.com).

6 p.m.
Tomatoes, kale, red pepper and roasted eggplant puree on a bed of campanelle pasta, $8 at Pizza Delicious (617 Piety St. 504-676-8482; www.pizzadelicious.com).

7 p.m.
Quinoa, black beans, corn, peppers and cilantro tossed with coconut chili lime vinaigrette and topped with toasted pumpkin seeds and cotija cheese, $7 at Carmo (527 Julia St., 504-875-4132; www.cafecarmo.com).

8 p.m.
A casserole-style mac 'n' cheese complete with cheddar, pepper Jack and Gruyere cheeses, $8 at The Munch Factory (6325 Elysian Fields Ave., 504-324-5372; www.themunchfactory.net).

9 p.m.
Cheez Whiz and steak in trad- itional Philadelphia cheese-steak-style sandwich, $6.75 at Liberty Cheesesteaks (5031 Freret St., 504-875-4447; www.libertycheesesteaks.com).

10 p.m.
Twice-fried chicken wings with kimchi sauce, fresh radishes, pickled papaya and carrots, $8 at Oxalis (3162 Dauphine St., 504-267-4776; www.oxalisbywater.com).

11 p.m.
A po-boy of roasted sweet potato and greens with Louisiana citrus pepper jelly and black-eyed pea pecan puree, $8.25 at Killer Poboys (811 Conti St., 504-252-6745; www.killerpoboys.com).

Midnight
Eggplant cannoli: grilled eggplant, piped chevre and ricotta cheese served with muhammara, $8 at The Delachaise (3442 St. Charles Ave., 504-895-0858; www.thedelachaise.com).

1 a.m.
Seared beef short ribs with garlic, $8 at Bouligny Tavern (3641 Magazine St., 504-891-1810; www.boulignytavern.com).

2 a.m.
Three deep-fried goat cheese balls with honey and pickled onions, $6 at Mimi's in the Marigny (2601 Royal St., 504-872-9868).

3 a.m.
Potato tots covered in vegan chili, cheddar cheese, red onion and sour cream, $6.50 at 13 Monaghan (517 Frenchmen St., 504-942-1345; www.13monaghan.com).

4 a.m.
Irish sausage with Crispin cider and onion gravy and crispy potatoes on a bun, $7 at Avenue Pub (1732 St. Charles Ave., 504-586-9243; www.theavenuepub.com).

5 a.m.
A catfish po-boy features catfish, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles and mayonnaise, $7.99 at Bud's Broiler (500 City Park Ave., 504-486-2559; www.budsbroiler.com).



More New Orleans Cheap Thrills:

City Park on the cheap 24 cheap eats in 24 hours10 restaurants where you can BYOBFine dining super-bargainsHappy hours Bargains at museumsHow to see movies for freeFive $10 road trips near New OrleansFree and cheap live storytelling eventsLow-cost dental care

Pin It

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in News

More by Sarah Baird

© 2014 Gambit
Powered by Foundation