Pin It

The New Orleans Twitter List 

Tweet dreams are made of this

You love Twitter, and so does New Orleans — but who (and what) to follow? Here are some suggestions for beefing up your timeline ...

Gambit

Gambit (@The_Gambit) Links to stories, breaking news, weather and whatever we feel like talking about.

Gambit Goods (@GambitGoods) Gambit's line on giveaways — movie passes, concert tickets and more.

Alex Woodward (@alexwoodward) Staff writer Alex Woodward's personal Twitter feed.

Lauren LaBorde (@laurenlaborde) Listings editor Lauren LaBorde's personal Twitter feed.

Clancy DuBos @clancygambit Political editor Clancy DuBos' personal Twitter feed.

TV News

WWL-TV (@wwltv) The city's No. 1 news channel.

Traffic (@wwltvtraffic) Avoid gridlock.

Weather (@wwltvweather) The frequently updated feed of the WWL-TV meteorology staff.

Sports (@wwltvsports) The Saints, the Hornets and everything else sports-related.

Film

New Orleans Film Society (@NOFS) Frequent updates about screenings and other film events.

NOLA Drive-In (@NolaDriveIn) Updates on NOLA Drive-In events.

The Prytania Theatre (@PrytaniaTheatre) Info on midnight and classic movie screenings, plus general movie info.

Radio

WWOZ-FM (@wwoz_neworleans) The city's 24-7 jazz and heritage music station (with no commercials!).

WTUL-FM (@wtul) Progressive sounds from the on-campus station at Tulane University.

Wild Wayne (@wildwayne) Q93 DJ and all-around man on the scene.

Music

Tipitina's (@tipitinas) Find out about bookings before they're announced elsewhere.

Basin Street Records (@BasinStRecords) Label repping some of New Orleans' best local music.

New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival (@jazzfest) The official Twitter feed of the city's biggest music fest.

Voodoo Music Experience (@VoodooNola) The Halloween weekend rock festival in New Orleans.

Lil Wayne (@Liltunechi) New Orleans' busiest and most prolific rap star.

Kristin Hersh (@kristinhersh) The former Throwing Muse is a popular local indie artist.

DJ Soul Sister (@djsoulsister) The platter-spinning queen of New Orleans.

Juvenile (@juviethegreat) New Orleans rap icon.

Curren$y (@CurrenSy_Spitta) Crescent City rapper.

Mannie Fresh (@mannieisfresh) Cash Money co-hort and Big Tymer.

Quintron (@mrquintron) Bywater organist, musician and Drum Buddy inventor.

Food

MV Burger (@MVBurger) Burger pop-up restaurant inside Slim Goodies on Sundays (which seems to be on a summer break right now). You'll find a post of that day's burger and milkshake special.

Pizza Delicious (@pizzadelicious) Pizza pop-up in the Bywater on Thursdays and Sundays. Its Twitter carries posts of that day's menu.

Taceaux Loceaux (@TLNola) Taco truck that also has a kitchen in Chickie Wah Wah. It posts its truck location and menu items.

Cochon Butcher (@cochonbutcher) Mouthwatering tweets about daily specials.

Lorin Gaudin (@loringaudin) Local food/dining writer.

NOLA Eats (@LeslieJAlmeida) Leslie J. Almeida, food blogger.

Fashion

United Apparel Liquidators, French Quarter (@U_A_L) Information about sales, new arrivals and the occasional funny tweet.

Christy Lorio (@slowsouthstyle) Posts from the fashion blogger, as well as news about local fashion events.

Stay Local! (@staylocal) Keep your shopping dollars in the community.

People

Mayor Mitch Landrieu (@MayorLandrieu) Keep up on official city business.

Drew Brees (@drewbrees) Everyone's favorite quarterback.

Harry Shearer (@theharryshearer) He's Mr. Burns. He's Nigel Tufnel. He's a director, a documentarian and a passionate defender of all things New Orleans.

Stuff to do

Ogden Museum of Southern Art (@OgdenMuseum) Museum officials will sometimes tweet ways to get into Ogden After Hours for free.

New Orleans Hornets (@Hornets) The city's NBA team.

New Orleans Saints (@official_Saints) Super Bowl XLIV champions.

Pin It

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in College Guide

© 2014 Gambit
Powered by Foundation