Pin It

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees not funky enough

Posted By on Tue, Dec 11, 2012 at 2:27 PM

Original Meters Leo Nocentelli, George Porter Jr., Art Neville and Joseph Zigaboo Modeliste
  • Original Meters Leo Nocentelli, George Porter Jr., Art Neville and Joseph "Zigaboo" Modeliste

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2013 inductees today. The musicians entering the Hall include Heart, Albert King, Randy Newman, Public Enemy, Rush and Donna Summer. Among those nominated but who will not be inducted next year are The Meters, NWA, Deep Purple and Chic. It may take a few years of nominations to gain entrance to the Hall. Summer was nominated every year from 2009 to the present and finally made it. Heart was nominated last year as well.

It's hard to imagine a band as influential as The Meters won't eventually be inducted. The seminal funk band backed other musicians on a wide array of legendary recordings before releasing its own music in the late 1960s and 1970s. The original lineup featured Art Neville, George Porter Jr., Leo Nocentelli and Joseph Zigaboo" Modeliste, and Cyril Neville later joined the group. Its commercial success never matched its influence on rock music, and the band broke up in the late 70s. It has since played a handful of reunion shows, including a New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival appearance and a Bonnaroo Festvial in which it joined Dr. John to play music from his Destively Bonnaroo album, which featured the band.

Tags: , ,

Pin It

Speaking of The Meters, Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in The Latest

More by Will Coviello

© 2018 Gambit
Powered by Foundation