Pin It
Favorite

A Confederacy of Dances 8 

The eighth annual Confederacy of Dances is an experimental collage of dance, music and visual art designed to tickle all six senses. In accordance with this year's theme, "New Orleans Mon Amour," New Orleans-based choreographers Nicole Boyd, Anne Burr, J Hammons, Gabrielle Pickard, Maritza Mercado-Narcisse and Eddie Villalta are bringing diverse talent to the stage, working with themes of love, loss, grief and renewal. "It's not just one person speaking," says organizer Gabe Pickard. "It's six voices." For her piece, "Blues for the Lower 9," Pickard chose the musical piece, The Swan, an 1886 composition from Camille Saint-Saen's The Carnival of Animals. But the music will be transformed in the hands of cellist Helen Gillet and New Orleans minimalist Potpie. The majority of the music, like all of the choreography, is original. Together, these performers are bringing new voices to an old city. Tickets $18 general admission, $15 CAC members/students. -- Vi Landry

8 p.m., Fri-Sat., May 26-27

Contemporary Arts Center, 900 Camp St., 528-3800, www.cacno.org or www.confederacyofdances.org

click to enlarge thea_rec-13485.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation