Pin It
Favorite

A Soldier's Play 

An investigation into the death of a black Army officer at Louisiana's Fort Neal, where black soldiers were stationed during World War II, turns up much more than the usual suspects. Capt. Richard Davenport (Anthony Bean) arrives at the base prepared to investigate everyone from the local Klan to white officers and black GIs. As he pieces the clues together, issues far greater than finding a culprit emerge. The Anthony Bean Community Theater opens its eighth season with the Pulitzer Prize-winning drama by Charles Fuller. Bean reprises his role from the play's 1984 Louisiana premiere at Ethiopian Theater. Wilbert Williams also directs Harold Evans and a large cast. Tickets $18 general admission, $16 students/seniors. — Will Coviello

8 p.m. Fri.-Sat., Feb 15-16; 3 p.m. Sun., Feb. 17; through March 9

Anthony Bean Community Theater, 1113 S. Carrollton Ave., 862-7529; www.anthonybeantheater.com

click to enlarge thea_rec-16869.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation