Pin It
Favorite

Cabaret 

You've probably seen the original Liza-with-a-Z Cabaret, and possibly even one of the grunged-up, pierced-and-tattooed revivals based on director Sam Mendes' contemporary staging. Le Petit Théatre du Vieux Carré's season-ending production is closer to the latter, but it's most notable as a showcase for two young homegrown talents who have become mainstays of New Orleans stage work. Jessie Terrebonne, who stars as Sally Bowles, has become the city's busiest musical-comedy go-to girl (Annie, The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, The Great American Trailer Park Musical). And if Roy Haylock, as the Emcee, looks vaguely familiar, you've probably seen his foul-mouthed drag persona Bianca del Rio at some louche late-night event, or hosting the outrageous Bourbon Street Awards costume contest on Fat Tuesday. Bottom line: plan on a babysitter if you're going to come to this Cabaret, old chum. Directed by Derek Franklin and Sonny Borey. Tickets $32 adults, $28 students. — Kevin Allman

8 p.m. Fri.-Sat., June 13-14; 2 p.m. Sun. June 15; through June 29

Le Petit Theetre du Vieux Carre, 616 St. Peter St., 522-2081;

www.lepetittheatre.com

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation