Pin It
Favorite

City of Hope: New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina 

One thing we've learned over the past year is that we may be tougher than we realized. We always knew we could drink most people under the table, but gritty determination? Never thought much about it -- until now. Through old photographs, prints, maps and books, this City of Hope show spotlights the determination and resilience of New Orleans residents in the face of 300 years of storms and floods. More recent photos, oral histories, videos and two films by Walter Williams explore this city's will to survive in the face of Hurricane Katrina's impact. In all, it's a very thorough exploration of our natural disaster heritage, right down to the MREs. A computer terminal equipped with hurricane-mapping tools keeps it real by enabling visitors to track their own storms. -- D. Eric Bookhardt

9:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Tue.-Sat., Aug. 8-12; through Nov. 4

Historic New Orleans Collection, 533 Royal St., 523-4662; www.hnoc.org

click to enlarge art_rec-13904.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation