Pin It
Favorite

Elemore Morgan Jr.: Recent Work 

Ah, summer -- the joys of heat and humidity! Think I'm kidding? Not! Humidity is our friend. In addition to being (sort of) good for the skin, humidity can be a boon for artists. Elemore Morgan Jr., longtime dean of Louisiana landscape painters, attributes the gauzy luminosity of his canvases to the intense light and thick, humid atmosphere of his home turf in Vermilion Parish, where even the view from his back porch can end up on canvas. And if you've ever wondered what Vermilion Parish has in common with Venice, he says it's a shared atmospheric luminosity that causes objects to seemingly glow from within. More by Morgan as well as works by his father, the late, great Louisiana photographer of the same name, will be featured in a father-son show at the Ogden Museum later this year

Through July 23
Arthur Roger Gallery, 432 Julia St., 522-1999; www.arthurrogergallery.com

click to enlarge art_rec-12000.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

More by D. Eric Bookhardt

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation