Pin It

Jefferson millage renewals 

This Saturday, Jefferson Parish voters will decide whether to renew existing property tax millages for fire protection, sewerage services and water works. These millages apply to particular areas only and are not parishwide. Because these millages support vital parish services and are limited in scope, we recommend voting for their renewal.

  Fire Protection District No. 5 includes Terrytown, unincorporated Gretna, and the Timberlane subdivision. Renewal of the 20-mill tax for 10 years would continue to provide fire protection for the district, which maintains a Class 2 fire insurance rating. For a home valued at $100,000, the tax bill is $50 a year.

  Consolidated Sewerage District No. 1 includes unincorporated Jefferson Parish and the Town of Jean Lafitte. Renewal of the 5-mill tax would generate an estimated $12.3 million for sewerage works and facilities for the district. A home valued at $100,000 would be taxed $12.50 a year to help the district continue to meet local, state and federal standards.

  Consolidated Waterworks District 1 includes unincorporated Jefferson Parish and the incorporated areas of Harahan, Kenner, Jean Lafitte and Grand Isle. Renewal of the 5-mill tax for 10 years would extend the sole source of revenue for capital improvements in the district.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Commentary

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation