Pin It
Favorite

Kiss of Fire 

Not even Dancing with the Stars sizzles like this. Kiss of Fire revives the passion of tango dancing in a city where it once raged in an area off Basin Street that was overshadowed only by its more notorious neighbor Storyville. A cast of more than 20 dancers, including competitive dancing champions, will showcase the development of the Argentine dance form over more than a century. Almost like Congo Square, it has roots in the drumming and dancing of African slaves and evolved in illicit dance halls to reach the current fad of Tango Nuevo. International Argentine tango sensations Murat and Michelle Erdemsel (pictured), award-winning Rick and Lynda Wilson and local writer/photographer Kerri McCaffety, who teaches tango classes, highlight the cast. Open dancing follows the performance. The event is a fundraiser for Save the Children, and there is a silent auction as well. Tickets $35 general admission, $55 VIP seating. — Allison Good

8 p.m. Fri., July 11

Royal Sonesta Hotel, South Ballroom, 300 Bourbon St., 872-9623; www.kissoffiretango.com

click to enlarge thea_rec-17558.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation