Pin It
Favorite

Lamps by Shannon Landis Hansen and Susan Neely 

Once, Magazine Street was to secondhand stuff what Hollywood is to movies, but today it's home to seemingly endless chic, mostly homegrown shops selling the newest new things. Recycled objects are reborn in the 1900 block of Magazine -- at Perrin Benham, where Shannon Hansen's handmade table lamps are truly over the top, and at Kunflama, where Susan Neely's wall lamps transform recycled stuff into guerilla design statements. Both explore what Hansen calls "the secret life of things" -- in her case the broken figurine shards that cover her work like surreal mosaics, resulting in the most cosmically campy lamps imaginable. Neely's pieces such as her "Shrimp Lamp" (pictured) are no less whimsical, shedding light on the infinite possibilities of orphaned objects liberated by an enlightened imagination. --D. Eric Bookhardt
click to enlarge art_rec-15660.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation