Pin It
Favorite

Living History 

It's not exactly like Disneyland, but the French Quarter does feature roving characters for the holiday season. And they have plenty to talk about. Some of the legendary New Orleanians out strolling, meeting and greeting on Royal, Chartres and Decatur streets (and the Shops at Canal Place and Riverwalk Marketplace in inclement weather) include Marie Laveau, Baroness Pontalba, Gen. Andrew Jackson, Sister Henriette Delille and others. Papa Noel also joins the festivities. The group gathers at the Hotel Monteleone at 11 a.m. and departs for Quarter jaunts that add a little extra drama to the holiday season. A good place to watch for them is in front of the St. Louis Cathedral before and after Mass on Christmas Day. This is their 10th year spreading holiday cheer in the French Quarter, and fans of local theater will recognize some familiar faces. -- Will Coviello

11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Sat.-Mon., Dec. 23-25

French Quarter

click to enlarge thea_rec-14672.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation