Pin It
Favorite

MARCEL FLISIUK: NEW PAINTINGS 

Known for his surreal and colorfully Kafkaesque paintings, Marcel Flisiuk was born in Poland, where he was profoundly influenced by his early years in the medieval port city of Gdansk. While he counts his "moody and sensual Slavic soul" among his formative influences, he also was affected by another port city, New Orleans, where the French Quarter still hints at its origins as a medieval sort of walled enclave. Flisiuk says he sold his first painting at age 10 in New Orleans, where he made friends with musicians and "aroused envy in craft painters littering Jackson Square," before expanding his repertoire to include murals, posters and CD covers. Describing New Orleans as the most European of American cities, he says it's a place "where things are played out more drastically and vividly." No kidding! -- D. Eric Bookhardt

Through June 28

3 Ring CircusÕ Big Top Gallery, 1638 Clio St., 569-2700; www.3rcp.com

click to enlarge art_rec-13587.jpeg

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation