Pin It

Nominees announced for 2018 Big Easy Music Awards 

The awards gala is April 23 at the Orpheum

PJ Morton, Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews, Tarriona "Tank" Ball, Hurray for the Riff Raff and Lost Bayou Ramblers are among the artists nominated for 2018 Big Easy Music Awards. Winners will be announced at the Big Easy Awards gala April 23 at Orpheum Theater.

  The Big Easy Awards recognize top male and female performers, the best album of the year and winners in 15 music categories, including blues, jazz, Cajun, zydeco, rock and others. PJ Morton and Jimmy "King James" Horn each drew three nominations, including for Best Male Performer, Best Rhythm and Blues and Best Album of 2017.

  The Gambit-affiliated Foundation for Entertainment, Development and Education presents the annual awards and provides grants to artists and educators.

  Winners of many music and theater awards will be announced at the April 23 gala, and there are performances by some nominated artists. The event is sponsored by Gambit, Adler's, Hall Piano Co., and the Orpheum Theater. General admission is $45, and VIP tickets are $150. Call Jon Broder at (504) 483-3129 for tickets.

Entertainer of the Year
Tank and the Bangas

Best Female Performer
Tarriona "Tank" Ball
Helen Gillet
Aurora Nealand

Best Male Performer
Monk Boudreaux
Jimmy "King James" Horn
PJ Morton
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews

Best Album of 2017

Act Like You Know

King James & the Special Men
Special Man Industries

Lost Bayou Ramblers
Rice Pump Records

PJ Morton
Morton Records

Sweet Crude
Rhyme & Reason Records

Best Traditional Jazz

Aurora Nealand & The Royal Roses
Preservation Hall Jazz Band
Tuba Skinny
Dr. Michael White

Best Contemporary Jazz

Helen Gillet
Stanton Moore Trio
Christian Scott
James Singleton

Best Brass Band

The Hot 8 Brass Band
The Original Pinettes Brass Band
The Soul Rebels
To Be Continued Brass Band

Best Gospel

The Electrifying Crown Seekers
McDonogh 35 High School Gospel Choir
New Orleans Gospel Soul Children
Betty Winn & One A-Chord

Best Funk

Corey Henry and the Treme Funktet
Naughty Professor
Cyril Neville and Swamp Funk
Sexy Dex and the Fresh

Best Rhythm and Blues

Erica Falls
King James & the Special Men
PJ Morton
Tank & the Bangas

Best Blues

Samantha Fish
The Fortifiers
Little Freddie King
Washboard Chaz Blues Trio

Best Rap/ Bounce

Delish Da Goddess
Nesby Phips

Best Heavy Metal/Punk

Mike Dillon Band
Trampoline Team

Best Rock

Anders Osborne
The Revivalists
Sweet Crude
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

Best Country/Folk

The Deslondes
Hurray for the Riff Raff
Leyla McCalla
Sarah Quintana

Best Zydeco/Cajun

Bonsoir Catin
Dwayne Dopsie & The Zydeco Hellraisers
Lost Bayou Ramblers

Best Latin/World

Kumasi Afrobeat Orchestra
Alexey Marti
The New Orleans Klezmer Allstars
Michael Skinkus and Moyuba

Best Emerging Artist

Tasche de la Rocha & the Psychedelic Roses
Erica Falls
Quiana Lynell
Water Seed

Best DJ/Electronica

Quickie Mart
Weather Warlock

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Pin It
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in News

Spotlight Events

  • Bayou Country Superfest @ Mercedes-Benz Superdome
    1500 Poydras St.

    • May 25-27

© 2018 Gambit
Powered by Foundation