Pin It
Favorite

Ponderosa Stomp Foundation Gala 

click to enlarge PHOTO BY GARY LOVERDE

The Louisiana State Museum Foundation honors legendary producer Dave Bartholomew (pictured), studio owner Cosimo Matassa and the Ponderosa Stomp. The event marks the 60th anniversary of the Fats Domino release "The Fat Man," widely considered the first rock 'n' roll record, which Bartholomew arranged and Domino recorded at Matassa's J&M Recording Studio. Currently on display in the museum is "The Secret History of Louisiana Rock 'n' Roll," which was curated by the Ponderosa Stomp and features exhibits about Domino, Bartholomew and Matassa's contributions to early rock 'n' roll. Lil Buck Sinegal headlines the event. Food is provided by area restaurants. A patron pre-party (6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.) features music by Jay Chevalier. Tickets $50 in advance, $60 at the door, $250 for patron party (includes museum foundation membership). — Will Coviello

March 5

Ponderosa Stomp Foundation Gala

8 p.m.-11 p.m. Friday

Louisiana State Museum, Arsenal, 601 S. Peters St., 558-0493; www.thelmf.org

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in New Orleans Event Previews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation