Pin It
Favorite

Remains : Photographs by Elizabeth Bick 

Amid the decorous paintings and ceramics at Ariodante are some striking photographs, mostly of the storm-ravaged interiors of some small, unusual churches, and at first glance it may not be obvious what they are. In fact, they're this city's "spiritual churches," a tradition that is in many ways more secretive than voodoo, with which they share a belief in the magical efficacy of saints and a penchant for the mysterious white garb associated with figures such as the late preacher and folk-artist Sister Gertrude Morgan. Bick's photographs reflect her deep knowledge of this little-known community, perhaps the most endangered victim of the flooding in low-lying black neighborhoods such as the Lower Ninth Ward, where the tradition runs deep and where people all too often lack the means to return and repair their devastated homes and churches. -- D. Eric Bookhardt

Through September

Ariodante Gallery, 535 Julia St., 524-3233

click to enlarge art_rec-13978.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation