Pin It
Favorite

Silo : Mixed-Media Sculpture by Gene Koss 

Glass sculptor Gene Koss is inspired by the cold and rugged landscape of his native Wisconsin in winter. As a youngster growing up on the family farm, he often had to take a pickax to loosen frozen silage inside the silo, which for him became a magical cavern of ice crystals, a place of solitude and wonder. Such memories eventually inspired this 11-by-14 foot rotating glass and metal sculpture, Silo (above). Accompanying it is Levee Break, a timber, steel and cast-glass response to the massive, Katrina-related flooding in Plaquemines Parish, which severely damaged his Belle Chasse studio. Koss was working on the piece when it was carried away in the flood. After recovering it, he altered the design and changed the name to commemorate the cataclysmic event. -- D. Eric Bookhardt

Through Sept. 8

Arthur Roger Gallery, 432 Julia Street, 522-1999; www.arthurrogergallery.com

click to enlarge art-lists-15864.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation