Pin It
Favorite

Start Up 

How art imitates life! The German Theater Abroad company (based in New York) has deployed its Road Theater to tour the United States with the show Start Up, which is about how some young Europeans journey westward to the United States in search of their own American dream — riches. Roland Schimmelpfennig's comedy is about what they find instead. The cast includes three German actors and two American actors. The group is bringing contemporary European theater to small towns across the United States, but doing it Ken Kesey style. They've painted a school bus lime green and headed out on the road. A documentary is being filmed about the company's tour. Follow the tour on the group's bilingual blog (www.roadtheaterusapress.blogspot.com). Tickets $20 general admission, $18 students/seniors, $15 CAC members. " Will Coviello

8 p.m. Wed., Nov. 7

Contemporary Arts Center, 900 Camp St., 528-3800; www.cacno.org

click to enlarge thea_rec-16364.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Stage Previews and Reviews

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation