Pin It
Favorite

The Red Show: Group Photography Exhibition 

It's not just another color or a more intense shade of pink. No, red is famous for its ruddy, passionate personality, its tendency to attract and repel with devil-may-care abandon. Not merely the warmest hue of the rainbow, it's also an alert, a light, a zone, even a menace or a scare. It's also a wine, a meat, a matador's cape, and most recently, it's the rationale for this photographic expo exploring red's infinite ramifications. Juried by Richard Sexton, it features 32 images culled from nearly 500 submitted by 120 photographers in 20 states. Local and Louisiana luminaries include Josephine Sacabo, Steven Forster, Lori Waselchuk and Curtis Knapp, the latter formerly of Manhattan, where he was known for his portraits of celebrities and artists such as Andy Warhol (pictured) captured while painting a canvas red. " D. Eric Bookhardt Through November

The Darkroom, 1927 Sophie Wright Place, 522-3211; www.neworleansdarkroom.com

click to enlarge art_rec-16376.jpeg

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation