Pin It

Thumbs Up/Thumbs Down 


Louisiana Student of the Year district winners for Orleans Parish include Lusher Charter School senior Samyra Cambrielle Miller, Benjamin Franklin Elementary School eighth-grader Niani Gibson, and Lusher fifth-grader Keiffer Bartlett Ary. Jefferson Parish finalists include Bissonet Plaza Elementary fifth-grader Anthony Fisher and Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy eighth-grader Myles Mackie and senior Stefan Suazo. The district winners will advance to the statewide contest.


The Tipitina's Foundation delivered seven sousaphones to McDonogh 35 High School Feb. 22. The donation, part of the foundation's Instrument Repair Initiative, is valued at $30,000 and was made in time for the band's Carnival parade performances.


The New York Times in a Feb. 17 story ("Mexico City, Parched and Sinking, Faces a Water Crisis"), blamed New Orleans for the devastating impact of Hurricane Katrina because of the city's alleged failure to adapt to climate change. The city — not the state or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers — "ignored countless warning signs, destroyed natural protections, gave developers a free pass and failed to reinforce levees." The levees, in fact, were and still are a state and federal responsibility.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Pin It
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Thumbs Up

Thumbs Down

Readers also liked…

© 2018 Gambit
Powered by Foundation