Pin It
Favorite

Vidal Blankenstein 

In Vidal Blankenstein's new paintings, fragments of figures, trees and houses, parcels of land and sea all seem to float in dreamlike sequences. Hovering in suspended animation, things levitate and pirouette in uncanny abandon, as wildfires and tsunamis enact their elemental psychodramas, and we can only wonder, what's with this woman, anyway, to be painting such things in a style that renders the ominous almost quaint if not decorous? Is this what she dreams at night, or what she would have us dream? Or is her gothic lyricism like a birthright, an enigmatic gift she chooses to share with us? A native of Natchez and resident of Jackson, Miss., in the surreal Magnolia State, Blankenstein says her paintings "are psychological narratives that explore the relationships between our emotional and physical environments." Which actually makes her a realist -- Mississippi style.

Through June
LeMieux Galleries, 332 Julia St., 522-5988; www.lemieuxgalleries.com
click to enlarge art_rec-11965.jpeg

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Pin It
Favorite
Submit an event Jump to date

Latest in Art Review

More by D. Eric Bookhardt

Spotlight Events

  • Titus Andronicus @ The AllWays Lounge & Theater
    2240 St. Claude Ave. http://www.theallwayslounge.net

    • Fri., Oct. 20, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 21, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 27, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 29, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 4, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.
  • Ballet Hispanico @ Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
    1419 Basin St. http://www.mahaliajacksontheater.com

    • Sat., Oct. 21
  • Close Me Out @ Hi-Ho Lounge
    2239 St. Claude Ave. http://www.hiholounge.net

    • First Saturday of every month

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation