Week in Review

Monday, May 8, 2017

Y@ Speak: taking them down, part 2

Posted By on Mon, May 8, 2017 at 6:30 PM


Presenting your week bookended by demonstrations at Confederate monuments, with room for a music festival in between:

Continue reading »

Monday, May 1, 2017

Y@ Speak: taking them down

Posted By on Mon, May 1, 2017 at 6:45 PM


The Liberty Place obelisk came down in the wee hours of April 24, and gun-carrying, Confederate-flag-waving, false-Yelp-review-leaving encampments popped up at the Jefferson Davis monument. Meanwhile, Jazz Fest survived the rain, and everyone roasted Vogue.

Continue reading »

Monday, April 24, 2017

Y@ Speak: CATs, dogs, alligators

Posted By on Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 5:38 PM

Alligators in the parks and in the streets, marches in defense of science in an increasingly facts-absent world, 3-year-old bus drivers — pretty normal week.

Continue reading »

Monday, April 17, 2017

Y@ Speak: end of Lent

Posted By on Mon, Apr 17, 2017 at 5:40 PM

Louisiana follows its Lenten fast with Easter candy, crawfish boils, declaring John Wayne Day, twerking in the streets. and continuing the relentless tradition of roasting the Falcons.

Continue reading »

Monday, April 10, 2017

Y@ Speak Classic

Posted By on Mon, Apr 10, 2017 at 4:06 PM

While today's Twitter fills up on bad open-mic jokes about airplanes, we look back at last week's hot takes on our favorite New Orleans subjects: sports, dysfunction, and festival behavior.

Continue reading »

Monday, April 3, 2017

Y@ Speak: emergency alert

Posted By on Mon, Apr 3, 2017 at 6:35 PM

Congratulations, we survived April Fool's Day and woke up way too early thanks to the powerful combination of technology, weather and leaving our phones close enough to immediately grab upon waking. Once more unto the tweets:

Continue reading »

Monday, March 27, 2017

Y@ Speak: briefly

Posted By on Mon, Mar 27, 2017 at 7:30 PM

Before we enter the fifth season (Festival), we prepare the trinity: Disaster capitalism, football stuff and Ken Polite dancing his way out of court. Also this week: Most of New Orleans didn't vote, and Louisiana's members of Congress were first in line to console the president.

Continue reading »

Monday, March 20, 2017

Y@ Speak: driving out the snakes

Posted By on Mon, Mar 20, 2017 at 6:30 PM

If someone didn't crawl through your bedroom window and ask to use the bathroom or pass out in front of your door wearing a green plastic hat, did St. Patrick's Day even really happen? After five million years of frat-level-wasted tourist amateur hour, we get to everyone's favorite time of year: caterpillar season. But first, let's look back at a week of some local internet stuff:

Continue reading »

Monday, March 13, 2017

Y@ Speak: too lit

Posted By on Mon, Mar 13, 2017 at 6:56 PM

You know what they say: There are two types of people in this world — people who throw eggs at tow trucks, and people who aren't heroes.

Also this week: health care, the Saints, people at Buku who are overwhelmingly lit, and now-former U.S. Attorney Kenneth Polite's perfect Friday reference.

Continue reading »

Monday, March 6, 2017

Y@ Speak: #RexComus 2017

Posted By on Mon, Mar 6, 2017 at 6:55 PM


Only 305 days until Carnival 2018 begins. You will probably start making your costume in 343 days. We're now in that rare pre-festival season no man's land. Enjoy it while it lasts. Here are some #RexComus highlights (and a drinking game), plus a few other things people managed to write online after Tuesday.

Continue reading »

Tags: ,

Submit an event Jump to date

Recent Comments

© 2017 Gambit
Powered by Foundation